Science is for All

In light of the upcoming March for Science and Earth Day celebration on April 22, this post is about an amazing site that I stumbled upon today.

Ever wondered what it was like to be a scientist when you were young?

I never considered becoming a researcher until I was exposed to the university setting. And even then, the idea of being a researcher or scientist was intimidating to me. I grew up surrounded by engineers, architects, nurses, business/finance workers, and farmers, seamstresses, and other blue-collar workers. Having had no family members or close family friends who were in the research and scientific field, I embarked on a lonely but intriguing path towards academia. How I wish I had the many resources available to our youth of today. I think that the future is definitely bright if more and more programs that promote science continue to exist.

As a clinical research scientist in the field of clinical psychology, I am always looking for ways to connect with everyday citizens who are interested in learning about our daily work and applying it to improve lives everywhere. My ultimate goal in my early career work is to “give away” science to the masses. After all, none of our hard work is possible without public support. My belief is that information learned from research should be used for the betterment of all. The first avenue towards this is to make science and research more accessible.

That is why the Frontiers for Young Minds is a clever and much-needed program.

Programs such as these warm my geeky heart. ❤

More about the journal from their website:

frontiers young minds

This week, we are celebrating Earth Day and there will be a nationwide March for Science in the US. At a time like now when funding for science, the environment, and the arts are dwindling to nil, I am hopeful that there continues to be a force of resistance against governmental cutbacks on important programs that promote knowledge and skill-building. Additionally, I am glad to know that there are people who see the value of instilling creative thinking and greater curiosity of the world around them to the future generation of leaders, healers, philosophers, artists, and more.

If you are interested in marching alongside your fellow science supporters, head over to March for Science to find more information.

SCIENCE IS FOR ALL. 🖖

